TCU Among the Winners in 2010s College Football Realignment

TCU Among the Winners in 2010s College Football Realignment
Fact Checked by Michael Peters

With college sports realignment once again front and center, it’s worth looking back at a Texas school that used a change of scenery to its advantage 12 years ago.

The TCU Horned Frogs jumped from the Mountain West to the Big 12 after posting six 10-win seasons in seven years under then-coach Gary Patterson.

From there, the Horned Frogs battled through their share of on-field adversity, winning 23 games between 2014 and 15 after going a combined 11-14 in their first two years in their new league.

Since then, the Horned Frogs have turned the corner, with coach Sonny Dykes leading TCU all the way to the College Football Playoff title game last season, before falling to Georgia, 65-7. utilized data from to look back at the big winners following the round of realignment from 2011-2014.

Unfortunately for sports fans, there will be no legal Texas sports betting on college football this season.

It will be 2025 before the state legislature again considers legalizing wagering.

Recent College Football Realignment Winners

TeamNew ConferenceRecord/Accolades
UtahPac 12 (2011)96-54; 6 Ranked Finishes; 2X Pac 12 Champions; 2 NY6 Bowl Appearances
TCUBig 12 (2012)87-53; 4 Ranked Finishes; 1X Big 12 Champions; 1 CFP/NCG Appearance
UCFAAC (2013)86-41; 4 Ranked Finishes; 4X AAC Champions; 3 NY6/BCS Bowl Appearances
CincinnatiAAC (2013)86-41; 4 Ranked Finishes; 3X AAC Champions; 2 NY6 Appearances
MemphisAAC (2013)81-47; 3 Ranked Finishes; 2X AAC Champions; 1 NY6 Bowl Appearance

Despite its huge breakout season last year, TCU is tied for fifth in Big 12 championship odds at national operators (there are no Texas mobile betting apps). TCU is +2000 and tied with Baylor. Texas is the Big 12 favorite at +100.

TCU Among Best Post-Realignment

Of the five programs that changed conferences in football between 2011 and 2014, the Horned Frogs have been among the most successful.

TCU’s 87 wins since joining the Big 12 in 2011 are the second-most among that group, behind Utah’s 96 in the Pac-12. And Utah will soon be joining TCU in the Big 12 after this current wave of realignment.

The Horned Frogs’ four ranked finishes is tied with UCF and Cincinnati for the second most, again behind the Utes’ six and ahead of Memphis’ three.

Of the five teams, TCU is the only program to make the CFP final, with the Bearcats making the semifinal in 2021, only to fall against Alabama, 27-6.

Georgia is the favorite to repeat as national champion. Although there are no Texas online casinos or sports wagering, national operators list the Bulldogs at +225 to win the title. Alabama is second at +600.

Looking back, there’s little doubt TCU made the smart play in leaving the Mountain West to the Power 5 level back in 2011.



Christopher Boan is a writer with, covering state issues. He has covered sports and sports betting in Arizona for more than seven years, including stops at, the Tucson Weekly and the Green Valley News.

Cited by leading media organizations, such as: